Goyte – A singer you should know

Gotye Cracks All-Time Most Popular Songs List, Gets Claimed By Belgium
Gotye Cracks All-Time Most Popular Songs List, Gets Claimed By Belgium

我很訝異我居然一直都沒有介紹過這個歌手,今天心血來潮決定寫篇文章介紹他。

Goyte 當然不是本名,他的本名是 Wouter Andre De Backer(小名 Wally),他是個比利時+澳大利亞籍歌手,前陣子(現在還是)很紅的 Somebody that I used to know 其實就是他的作品。

據說這首歌紅到本人聽到都想吐…

Somebody That I Used To Know

by Goyte, feat. Kimbra

[Gotye:]
Now and then I think of when we were together
Like when you said you felt so happy you could die
Told myself that you were right for me
But felt so lonely in your company
But that was love and it’s an ache I still remember

You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness
Like resignation to the end, always the end
So when we found that we could not make sense
Well you said that we would still be friends
But I’ll admit that I was glad that it was over

But you didn’t have to cut me off
Make out like it never happened and that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love
But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough
No you didn’t have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number
I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know

Now you’re just somebody that I used to know
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know

[Kimbra:]
Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me over
But had me believing it was always something that I’d done
But I don’t wanna live that way
Reading into every word you say
You said that you could let it go
And I wouldn’t catch you hung up on somebody that you used to know

[Gotye:]
But you didn’t have to cut me off
Make out like it never happened and that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love
But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough
No you didn’t have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number
I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know

[x2]
Somebody
(I used to know)
Somebody
(Now you’re just somebody that I used to know)

(I used to know)
(That I used to know)
(I used to know)
Somebody

因為實在是太紅,加上 MV 又太有特色,所以也出現了很多惡搞的版本,我個人最喜歡的就是星際大戰惡搞版,諷刺 George Lucas 的歌詞害我每看必笑。

不過 Somebody that I used to know 這首還不是 Goyte 裡面我最喜歡的作品,雖然它真的很好聽也是我開始注意到 Goyte 的第一首歌。

Goyte 的作品裡面,聽到後來讓我最喜歡的其實是 Hearts of mess,不只是因為旋律本身很特別,它的歌詞也讓我很有感覺。那句 Let me occupy your mind. As you do mine 一出來我就投降了,完全沒有可以解釋的理由。

其實聽歌就是這樣,歌詞好的話就真的會讓聽的人很有感觸想要一聽再聽。

Hearts A Mess

Goyte

Pick apart
The pieces of your heart
And let me peer inside
Let me in
Where only your thoughts have been
Let me occupy your mind
As you do mine

Your heart’s a mess
You won’t admit to it
It makes no sense
But I’m desperate to connect
You can’t live like this

You have lost
(Too much love)
To fear, doubt and distrust
(It’s not enough)
You just threw away the key
To your heart

You don’t get burned
(‘Cause nothing gets through)
It makes it easier
(Easier on you)
But that much more difficult for me
To make you see…

Love ain’t fair
So there you are
My love

Your heart’s a mess
You won’t admit to it
It makes no sense
But I’m desperate to connect
And you, you can’t live like this

Your heart’s a mess
You won’t admit to it
It makes no sense
But I’m desperate to connect
And you can’t live like this

Love ain’t safe
You won’t get hurt if you stay chaste
So you can wait
But I don’t wanna waste my love

另外還有一首讓我覺得妙到不行的歌 Thanks For Your Time,其實是在描寫一件我們日常生活當中都會發生的事情,就是你打電話去客服抱怨的時候,電話一等又等一轉再轉的經歷,最後還會得到 Thanks for your time. We’ll get back to you. 這句官腔官調的話,但是問題總是很難得到解決。歌詞很有趣,一整個超妙,你從來不會想到這種內容可以變成一首歌。

話說我跟我家大熊互聽對方的音樂都會感到超悶,因為我們兩個人對音樂的喜好真的是差距很大。他的 playlist 根本就是美國電台 KOIT 的流行樂清單,我的 playlist 根本就是他心中的冷門無聊音樂清單。我喜歡 Michael Jackson,他喜歡 Bon Jovi;我喜歡百老匯,他喜歡流行樂;我喜歡的演奏樂他覺得很詭異,他喜歡的演奏樂我覺得很無聊;我喜歡的歌他都沒聽過,他喜歡的歌我聽到都很膩(KOIT 播過你又播)。

偶爾也會遇到我們兩個都還算喜歡的歌,但是數量真的很少。只能說真的是各有所好…還是準備個好耳機好了!

2 thoughts on “Goyte – A singer you should know

  1. 是鍋貼!!!
    我朋友說他名字很難唸
    所以都叫他鍋貼XD
    之前他紅的時候
    我也試著去找他的其他歌
    但我還是只喜歡 Somebody that I used to know
    可能我也比較俗氣吧
    比較聽的慣流行歌

    • 哈哈~鍋貼好貼切!XDDD
      Somebody that I used to know 超好聽的啊!一點都不會俗氣,作者他本人是因為聽到耳朵都長繭了才靠腰兩句,我自己也還是超愛聽這首的啊!

發表迴響

