Les Misérables – On My Own

Samantha Barks, Éponine In 'Les Miserables
Samantha Barks, Éponine In ‘Les Miserables

在悲慘世界當中,Éponine 是個很令人心疼的悲劇角色。她深愛的 Marius 卻偏偏對 Cosette 一見鍾情,不但沒有看到她的一往情深,還讓 Éponine 幫忙送情書給 Cosette。Éponine 雖然順利地把信交到了 Jean Valjean 的手中,後來卻為了保護心愛的 Marius,身受重傷滿身是血的死在 Marius 懷中。

死之前還不斷地安慰眼前的蠢男人,對他說至少自己可以死在他的懷中。

和 Cosette 那種懷春幸福少女的情愛不同,Éponine 的愛情有很多的孤獨與不幸,也有很多的挫折和磨難,但是從 Éponine 的歌聲當中,你還是可以深深的感覺到她那為了愛不顧一切勇往直前的執著,雖然她心裡比誰都明白這一切都只是自己的一廂情願。

I love him. But only on my own.

比起 Cosette 那備受呵護般的幸福愛情,我更能夠被 Éponine 的強烈情感所感動。

很幸運的,25 週年裡面的 Éponine 跟電影版的都是由 Samantha Barks 所飾演,她美妙迷人的歌聲以及豐富無比的情感,讓這兩個版本的 Éponine 唱起歌來都超級催淚,能夠贏得在座所有觀眾的如雷掌聲不是沒有道理的。

電影版的 On My Own 完整版,歌聲不但好到沒話說,連演技都一級棒。

音樂劇的版本:

And now I’m all alone again nowhere to turn, no one to go to
without a home without a friend without a face to say hello to
And now the night is near
Now I can make believe he’s here

Sometimes I walk alone at night
When everybody else is sleeping
I think of him and then I’m happy
With the company I’m keeping
The city goes to bed
And I can live inside my head

On my own
Pretending he’s beside me
All alone
I walk with him till morning
Without him
I feel his arms around me
And when I lose my way I close my eyes
And he has found me

In the rain the pavement shines like silver
All the lights are misty in the river
In the darkness, the trees are full of starlight
And all I see is him and me forever and forever

And I know it’s only in my mind
That I’m talking to myself and not to him
And although I know that he is blind
Still I say, there’s a way for us

I love him
But when the night is over
He is gone
The river’s just a river
Without him
The world around me changes
The trees are bare and everywhere
The streets are full of strangers

I love him
But every day I’m learning
All my life
I’ve only been pretending
Without me
His world will go on turning
A world that’s full of happiness
That I have never known

I love him
I love him
I love him
But only on my own

發表迴響

